Home arrow Towns in the Overberg arrow Elim arrow History of Elim

The History of Elim PDF Print E-mail

Elim in the Strandveld is a Moravian Mission Station established in 1824.  German missionaries brought the Gospel here and also taught the people various trades and skills.  This picturesque town has changed little over the years and, until this day, only members of the Moravian Church, and the water-mill, are some of the many national heritage sites in this charming little village.  The big thatched church is the pivot of all the streets in the town and visitors are welcome to join worship on Sundays.  Accommodation is available in a comfortable B&B.

Water Mill:  This old water mill, built in 1833 and restored in 1990, has the largest wooden water wheel in South Africa, and is again grinding wheat as in days of yore.

Slave Monument (1938):  Commemorates in the liberation of slaves in the Cape.

Bakery:  Delicious baked goods can be baked at the bakery.

Geelkop Nature Reserve:  Elim is famous for its extremely rare dwarf Elim fynbos.  Gentle day walks with beautiful views.

Annual Flower Show:  A fynbos flower show is held annually.   


Tel:(028) 482 1806
Address:Elim Tourism Bureau
PO Box 33
Elim 7284
Municipality:(028) 482 1806/705


< Prev   Next >